With university tuition fees costing up to £9,250 per year, England is the most expensive place to study in Europe.

It’s not a surprise then that for those who want to travel, experience a different culture or develop foreign language skills, studying in a country which has no tuition fees for undergraduates is an attractive option.

So in which countries can a prospective student from the UK study for free?

Scottish students already get free university tuition in Scotland, as do students from other EU countries, but those from England, Wales and Northern Ireland have to pay to study there.

The Scottish government meets the cost of Scottish students and EU law makes clear students from EU countries cannot be offered a worse deal than home ones.

The Scottish government has pledged that whatever happens, EU students who enrol up to 2019 will continue to benefit from free tuition fees.

UK students can study for free in 11 countries

Currently, any British student can study at a university in any EU or EEA country (Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein), provided he or she fulfils the entry requirements of that institution.

If the home students do not pay any fees, the UK students are also entitled to study for free.

In total, 10 EU countries, as well as Norway, do not charge undergraduate students tuition fees.

EU/EEA countries with no tuition fees for undergraduate Include;

  • Germany
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Poland
  • Hungary
  • Austria
  • Greece
  • Croatia
  • Slovania

Other countries charge very low tuition fees. France, for example, charges between €180 (£158) to €600 (£527) a year at its state-funded universities.

In some of the countries, like Germany, many of the courses are in English. In others, like Croatia, the free courses are only available in the national language. VIA BBC NEWS.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here